Saturday, March 29, 2008

E-bay and Emma

Tim and I just bought a van off e-bay last night. We have been watching several and this one really seems to be a good fit. We plan on keeping it at least 5 years and hopefully more so we should be in good shape.

The van we have right now is actually one we bought of e-bay several years ago. I was in a wreck and totalled our van. They didn't give us much to replace it with and we didn't have any saved for buying a car so we were stuck. We got one off e-bay and it has worked just fine. When we got it though it was close to 100k miles and we tend to put close to 20k a year on so it is starting to get up there. It is really strange though to buy a van and have to only take the seller's word for the condition! We are trusting that they have been honest and that God was with us during this decision. We actually bid $500 more than we wanted but they wouldn't take our first bid. We only pay cash for things so we didn't want to go too high. Thankfully we have that extra money saved. (Dave Ramsey is such a smart guy!)

Anyway, I started this post because Emma saw the e-bay watch list that had all the vans we have been watching over the past week. She was scrolling down and noticed that there was a boat listed that "you can sleep in". Guess what!?! I checked my e-mail and there is a bid confirmation!!!!!!!!!! Thankfully she only bid $100.01 but oh what a mess this could have been! I don't think think she knew what she was doing but I guess I will be having a little talk with her about e-bay.

Here is the boat she was bidding on: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=200211816289&ssPageName=STRK:MEBI:IT&ih=010

Friday, March 14, 2008

The 700 Club and Diamond Willow Ministries

The 700 Club did a piece on Diamond Willow Ministries this week. You can check it out at http://www.cbn.com/media/index.aspx?s=/archive/club/700club031308&title=The%20700%20Club&prgm=700club It aired on Thursday, March 13. It is right at 16 minutes into the show.

Diamond Willow is where Tim does his mission work every summer. He is now on the Board of Directors. You can see Tim in the circle at the end of the piece. Some of the video footage is actually from one of Tim's trip. He actually talked the girl into singing! (Watch and you'll appreciate.)

I just thought I would share with everyone. It's only about 6-8 minutes so it doesn't take very long to watch. Diamond Willow had 50 e-mails yesterday after the showed aired! WOW! God is good!

Diamond Willow: http://www.d-w-m.org/

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Parenting is not for the weak!

I made a mistake yesterday. I was too comfortable with how the prior 2 days had gone so I commented about how good things were going - big mistake!

About 2 weeks ago when the kids and I were at the library we noticed a flyer for a magician coming to the Danville High School. The tickets were only $5 each so the price was reasonable. We are not spending extra money right now because the gas prices are killing us! However, we thought that we would swing the $25 for a fun family outing. It was to be held on Wednesday night so we would be missing church. We decided that since we were doing a family outing and not just skipping for another reason, that it would be fine to go ahead.

This is all the kids have talked about for a week! Every time we go to the library Christian always looks for magic books. There have been several TV programs on over the past several months that the kids watch over and over and over trying to see if they can figure out the tricks. Magic has invaded our house :)

Anyway, yesterday morning I reminded the kids that tonight is the magic show. I told them there would be no whining, griping or complaining because going to the show is a privilege and we did not have to go. They were on "their best behavior" all day. Emma even took a nap because we figured it would be a late evening. (She is outgrowing her naps so I only try to lay her down every other day or when we have something special going on).

Great day - until dinner.

Emma has a MAJOR breakdown! Tim spanked her, it didn't stop. I looked her straight in the face and told her that if she did not quit, she was going to bed and we would both be missing the magic show - that she really wants to see - and that I really want to go to with the family. I would be really sad not to get to go. Emma stuck to her guns and continued her fit. I put her to bed at 6:15 last night and the boys went to a magic show.

She did not cry another tear or any type of fit after she was in bed. I heard her talking and singing for about 2 hours. She kept wanting to know when it was going to get dark (daylight savings time is keeping it lighter now). I told her I didn't know. It was her fault she was in bed so early because we were supposed to be at a magic show. I made her take that nap earlier today so she could stay up late - her response: Oh yeah.

I had Tim take our 2 extra tickets to see if someone might be willing to buy them off of us, even at a cheaper price. Like I said, money is really tight because of the gas prices and our budget isn't stretching as far as it used to. We weren't counting on it.

I must admit that I sulked for a little while. I put on my pj's and thought that I would just watch TV since I didn't have to fight the remote with anyone (a night without Disney channel). Guess what? There is NOTHING on television on Wednesday nights! I didn't want to mop the kitchen or clean the bathrooms because I had a few hours to myself so I watched nothing on TV. I was a true channel surfer!

Tim and the boys got home at almost 10 last night! The show was 2 1/2 hours. Tim said that the magician actually "preached" a 20-30 minute sermon in the middle of his act. WOW! The boys thought that was cool. They had a good time. I wish Emma and I could have joined them for our family fun outing.

But ....... parenting isn't for the weak! Emma learned a hard lesson last night. I think that she will look back and know we did the right thing. I think it spoke to the boys too. If we are not going to take that kind of behavior from a 4 year old, we definitely won't take it from them!

BTW, Tim sold the tickets back to the people. I really think that was a GOD thing. He knows we are trying to teach our kids responsibility. I believe we were rewarded (our money back) for doing the right thing last night.

Doing the right thing is not always easy and parenting is not for the weak!

As a side note, Emma ate her dinner for breakfast this morning.

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Where to buy your USA gas.....

I received the following as an e-mail today. I checked it out myself and the numbers are correct. I just wanted to pass this along to everyone. It is going to impact where I buy my gas. These gas prices are killing our budget!


WHERE TO BUY YOUR USA-GAS

WHERE TO BUY YOUR USA-GAS, THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW. READ ON--
Gas rationing in the 80's worked even though we grumbled about it.

It might even be good for us!

The Saudis are boycotting American goods.

We should return the favor.

An interesting thought is to boycott their GAS.
Every time you fill up the car, you can avoid putting more money into the coffers of Saudi Arabia . Just buy from gas companies that don't import their oil from the Saudis.


Nothing is more frustrating
than the feeling that every time I fill-up the tank, I am sending my money to people who are trying to kill me, my family, and my friends.

I thought it might be interesting for you to know which oil companies are the best to buy gas from and which major companies import Middle Eastern oil .


These companies import Middle Eastern oil :
Shell........................... 205,742,000 barrels
Chevron/Texaco......... 144,332,000 barrels
Exxon /Mobil............... 130,082,000 barrels
Marathon/Speedway... 117,740,000 barrels
Amoco............................62,231,000 barrels

Citgo.......from South America , from a Dictator who hates Americans
If you do the math at $30/barrel, these imports amount to over $18 BILLION! (oil is now $80 - $90 a barrel)

Here are some large companies that do not import Middle Eastern oil:


Sunoco...................0 barrels
Conoco..................0 barrels
Sinclair.................0 barrels
B P/Phillips............0 barrels
Hess.......................0 barrels
ARC0....................0 barrels

All of this information is available from the Department of Energy and each is required to state where they get their oil and how much they are importing.

But to have an impact, we need to reach literally millions of gas buyers. It's really simple to do.

Now, don't wimp out at this point.... keep reading and I'll explain how simple it is to reach millions of people!!

I'm sending this note to about thirty people .
If each of you send it to at least ten more (30 x 10 = 300)... and

those 300 send it to at least ten more (300 x 10 = 3,000) .. and so on, by the time the message reaches the sixth generation of people,

we will have reached over THREE MILLION consumers !!!!!!!

If those three million get excited and pass this on to ten friends each, then 30 million people will have been contacted!

If it goes one level further, you guessed it ..... THREE HUNDRED MILLION PEOPLE!!!


Again, all you have to do is send this to 10 people. How long would all that take?

If each of us sends this e-mail out to ten more people within one day, all 300 MILLION people could conceivably be contacted within the next eight days !

Monday, March 3, 2008

Monsters!

What a night! Last night I heard Emma scream. She has been known to walk and talk in her sleep so I thought I would check to see if I heard her again. Sure enough, I did.

I got our of bed and walked into the hall. As I was rounding the corner, here came Emma. I screamed so in return, she screamed! Then she jumped into my arms. I told her she scared me because I wasn't anticipating finding her in the hallway. I got her calmed down. She had had a nightmare about monsters. I turned on her closest light and got her tucked back into bed. A little while later she is in our room. Her response "it didn't work".

I put her in the middle between Tim and I. Bad idea! I should have put her on my side. She is a bed hog! We have a California King bed and she was scooting me off, maybe I should have slept in her room.

Needless to say, I didn't sleep very well last night. At one point she even screamed out "BOO!" while she was asleep.

She said she just really had a bad dream about monsters.

This is 2 nights out of 3 that I have had very little sleep due to Emma (sickness on Friday night and then this). Please pray that we can all get a good nights' sleep. I also don't want to be cranky due to the lack of sleep.

I am breaking down and FINALLY going to the doctor this afternoon. Tomorrow will be 6 weeks I have had the yuckies. I figure it's time to figure out what is wrong with me and get better.

I am in our Easter production in 3 weeks. I have a solo line that I sing and then I'm in a quartet. I don't want to sound bad for that so I figure, now's the time to see what's wrong.

Anyway, we loved the WONDERFUL weather yesterday, except for all the mud - what a mess! Today the temp is great but now the rain has come. The wind is unbelievable and then tonight it all turns to snow! You just have to love this Indiana weather!

Saturday, March 1, 2008

Bummed? Yes and No

Tim called me several times this morning. As of noon, Christian still not even have bouts posted for his meet. Needless to say, it was a LONG morning. There were lots of people very mad at this tournament. (It was supposed to start at 9). In fact, one of the kids that went with us had wrestled 4 times before Christian got to go even once!

Anyway, knowing all that, I'm glad I wasn't there.

Christian had a bye his first round - glad I wasn't there.

Christian won his match - wish I had been there.

Christian won his next match - really wish I had been there. He beat the guy who won last week! Christian pinned him!

Christian lost the next match. He seems to think this was the same guy he lost to twice last week. He just gave up! Tim was/is frustrated with that! We don't expect our kids to win - just do their best and Christian quit. Now Tim is bummed and Christian is bummed - glad I wasn't there to see it or I would be more bummed.

So, it is a bummer sort of day in the Gerber household. Glad it's almost bedtime - tomorrow is a new day that God will hopefully bless us with and we will start over.

Bummer!

Today is Christian's last wrestling tournament of the year. He has done well, even in last weeks with his first/second loss to the same boy. Tim and the boys headed out for it this morning. Where am I? Taking care of a sick little girl!

Wednesday night we got home from church and Emma started complaining that her stomach was hurting. She went to bed and then at 10:30 I had her in the shower and Tim had out the carpet cleaner (BTW girls, that's a sign of a true man!). She was only sick 1 more time that evening. (Sorry to everyone at church that we would have exposed - she has run no fever though!)

Thursday she was clingy and a little whiney. She took a good nap and seemed fine. Yesterday you could tell she was just a little off but wasn't complaining and played hard. Then last night starting at 12:30 a.m. I was up with her every hour until 4:30. She then slept until 7. She was sick again then!

Needless to say, I'm tired! I'm glad that we will be able to take a nap this afternoon.

I am also bummed that we didn't get to go to the tournament. She came into my room this morning dressing herself in her Danville Warriors t-shirt ready to go to the meet. She cried a little when I told her we weren't going. She enjoys these meets too.

Please pray that she gets to feeling better and that no one else gets it!

Thanks and everyone stay healthy!